Joining UpSearch

After what may be the longest interview process ever, I have joined the professionals at UpSearch. This marks a few interesting turns in my career. A few firsts:

  • Working from home, full-time. I’ve worked from home before for short periods; perhaps a week or two at the most. So this will be an interesting challenge for me. I do like my home office though, and find that I am quite productive in it. Often more so than I am in a traditional office environment. I’m confident that this will work out well.
  • Consulting. I’ve done contract work, and many of my previous engagements have been contract-to-hire. I know what it takes to keep clients happy. (Candy. Clients like candy.) However, my most recent previous positions have been as a full-time employee. I’m looking forward to the challenge of working for multiple clients. I feel like I have a decent handle on my time management and documentation skills, so again, I’m confident that I am up to the challenge.
  • Community Involvement. I like to think I’ve been doing this already, blogging, speaking at SQL Saturdays and participating in the local user group. Now, however, this is considered a focus of my job. Maybe a minor focus, but a focus none the less. I plan to expand my community involvement because of this.

Of course, I would be remiss if I didn’t mention that the two best parts of joining UpSearch are the people I’ll be getting to work with. I have great deal of respect for the professionalism and skills of both Colleen Morrow ( b | t ) and Kendal Van Dyke ( b | t ). I’m looking forward to working with, and learning from, both of them.

Let’s do good work.

Thanks for reading.

-David.

6 thoughts on “Joining UpSearch

    • Thanks, Justin. Luckily for me, there’s both a Tim Horton’s and a Dunkin Donuts within walking distance, as well as our local library. Though hopefully that doesn’t feed my doughnut addiction…

      Like

Please Comment

