Speaker Idol. I’m in.

A little over a week ago, Denny Cherry posted the 12 contestants for this year’s Speaker Idol competition at the PASS Summit. If you’re unfamiliar with the event, it’s patterned after the “American Idol” singing competition, where people compete for a record contract, except that you’re in for a speaking slot at next year’s PASS Summit. Sounds like fun, doesn’t it? :-)

If you look close and have a good attention span, you’ll see my name at the bottom of that list. So I will be presenting a five minute technical session on… something. I’m going back and forth between a couple of different things. The difficulty is presenting a complete technical concept in a professional manner with a time span so short. Am I confident that I can do it? Absolutely. I feel like I have enough technical presenting under my belt at this point to do this.

Am I worried about the competition? Nope. But not in the way you might think. You see, I don’t really view this as a competition in the traditional sense. I know a couple of the other participants personally, and have seen more than one of them present before. They’re good – very good. So why aren’t I worried? Because there’s nothing to worry about. There’s no way to “lose”.

At the very least, I get to present a five minute session to a panel of experienced speakers who are going to give me valuable feedback on my presentation skills. Is that not worth participating? I get to work with 11 peers on improving my speaking skills. Yep – totally worth it. And whoever wins – good for you. If I don’t get the speaking slot for 2016, then I just submit as I normally would. See? Nothing to lose and plenty to gain.

Actually, now that I think about it, the people I feel bad for are the judges. Last year’s event was a really difficult decision. So… many… good… presenters… I do not envy the job of the judges one bit. In fact, I’m glad I’m the one on stage. All I have to do is present.

I can do that. :-)

See you there?

-David.

One thought on “Speaker Idol. I’m in.

  1. Pingback: News About PASS For Week Ending October 24, 2015 |

Please Comment

