SQL Saturday Roundup – April 2015 Edition

This year is picking up nicely for events for me. After thoroughly enjoying SQL Saturday Nashville in January, and SQL Saturday Cleveland in February, I’m really looking forward to my next few SQL-related trips. I’ve updated my schedule page accordingly, but wanted to call out the next couple of events I’m going to be at. If anyone in those areas, or travelling to them for the events, wants to get together and chat, please let me know.

April 11 – SQL Saturday – Madison WI

I’ll be heading to SQL Saturday Madison for the second year in a row, and I’m very excited for a couple of reasons. First, I’ll be presenting my brand new session, “Turbo-Charged Transaction Logs“. In that session, we’ll dig a little bit into the transaction log internals, show how SQL logs what it does, and some ways to make the logging process faster.  Second, and more importantly, I’m looking forward to spending time learning and relaxing with the fantastic people of the Madison SQL Server community. You’ve got a good crew up there, folks. Looking forward to seeing you all.

May 4 – 8: SQL Skills IE:PTO2 – Chicago IL

OK. This isn’t a SQL Saturday event, but I will be travelling to Chicago for a week to get schooled on SQL Server performance by one of the best companies in the business, SQL Skills. At some point, my brain is going to need a break so if you’re in the Chicago area and want to catch up, or just chat about SQL Server, drop me a line. I should have an evening or two free. :-)

May 16 – SQL Saturday – Rochester NY

This will be my first time speaking for SQL Saturday Rochester, and I’m stoked. The schedule hasn’t been finalized, but the approximate schedule is up, and if it sticks, I’ll be doing two sessions on disaster recovery, back to back. A whole afternoon block of breaking and fixing. Sounds like fun!

One session I’ll be presenting is: “The Usual SUSPECTs: When Good Databases Go Bad“.  This session is all about database states. The good, the bad, and the ugly, as it were. In addition to talking about things like moving OFFLINE database files and rolling a database forward through its transactions using a STANDBY restore, we’ll look at what happens when a SAN failure puts a database in to RECOVERY_PENDING, or when a disk crash lands you into SUSPECT mode. I’ll show you how to recover from those states in a safe way.

The other session I’ll be doing is “DBA 911 – Database Corruption“. In that session, we’ll look at the basic definitions and terms of database corruption and repair. We’ll talk about some of the different kinds of corruption, how to look for and troubleshoot corruption issues, and when it’s best to repair vs. restore. As in all things Disaster Recovery – preparation is key, so we’ll also cover steps you can take to ready yourself for a corruption problem. (Hint: have you hugged your backups today?)

Thanks for reading, and I hope to see you at one of these events.

-David.

Please Comment

