I don’t know everything.

This week finds me in class 10775 – SQL Server 2012 Administration. I’ve been a database administrator for over 10 years, so why take the basics again?

  • This version is relatively new to me, so there is an advantage to going through some formal training. No matter how many times you review something, there’s always something new there to learn. This is the same reason I often attend SQL Saturday sessions I’ve seen before. You always pick up something new.
  • This is the official MS curriculum.  While I could download the materials myself and do my own study, you can’t ask questions from a book. Having an instructor to bounce ideas off of is a bonus.  I also plan to take the certification tests, so studying the official curriculum is the way to go, IMO.
  • Having reviewed the material, I’ll also be better prepared to teach it to the other DBAs, especially those who aren’t as familiar with SQL Server as they are with their own platforms.

I’ve never attended a class or session where I’ve learned nothing. So while being in a basic training class may seem like a waste of time to some veterans, it keeps me on my toes, looking for that one hidden gem of knowledge that I missed the first few times around.

More to come, as the week progresses.

Thanks for reading.

-David.

2 thoughts on “I don’t know everything.

Please Comment

