Upcoming – SQL Saturday 160 – Kalamazoo MI

In a little over a week from now I’ll be speaking at SQL Saturday #160 in Kalamazoo MI. I’ll be presenting a session titled DBA Basics: The Four Tasks Every DBA Should Know.  It covers some of the fundamentals of Restore, Backup, Index and Stats Maintenance and running CHECKDB. It’s a very high-level, beginner’s session, designed for those who are new to being a DBA. This is probably well into the teens for me, for the number of SQL Saturdays I’ve been to, but the first one I’ve ever presented at.

I’ve done some public speaking in the past on other topics, but this is the first time I’ve given a technical presentation. Nothing teaches you the ins and outs of a technical topic like trying to teach it to others, and this is no exception. I’ve been fact checking myself frequently over the last couple of weeks, and to tell the truth, I’ve been wrong N+1 times.  However, that has me excited, rather than nervous. The upshot is, I’m learning. Fast. That’s a good thing, no matter how you slice it. Even if I get called out for being wrong on something (which can happen, no matter how much fact checking you put into it), that’s still a learning opportunity, and I intend to use it as such.

If you are already planning to go, I’m looking forward to seeing you there, regardless of whether you attend my session. There will be a lot of really good sessions there, and I certainly wouldn’t blame you if you passed mine over for another one. :-)

If you’re on the fence about it, why? This is a great day of free training for you. It would be a huge asset to you not only to take advantage of that, but to have the opportunity to network with some of the most visible, and especially helpful people in the SQL Server community. It’s a win.

I hope to see you there.

Thanks,

-David.

Please Comment

