Introductory Post

Greetings, reader, and welcome to David Maxwell on SQL Server.

Wow – that sounds really pretentious to me. In fact, I’m feeling a slight bit of nervousness as I type this.  This blog is going to be part of a new venture for me, to get myself more deeply involved in the SQL Server community.  I speak in analogies a lot, so to use a sports analogy, I feel like I’ve been showing up to practice and training hard, but haven’t really gotten off the bench to play the game.  Now, it’s time to finally jump in and start doing my part. I’ve had a few conversations with people recently about contributing, and after being given the opportunity to put my money where my mouth is, I’m going for it.

The opportunity I was given was to speak at SQL Saturday 160 in Kalamazoo, Michigan.  I’m going to be covering basic database maintenance and I’m really looking forward to it. What makes me a bit nervous is that I’ve done some public speaking before, but never on SQL Server. In a way, it feels like a test on a new subject. I have to show what I know, and answer questions to a crowd that I often feel probably knows more than I do on the subject. It’s a bit intimidating, but despite the nerves, I’m pretty excited about it. I’ve been working on my slide notes and have secured a demo machine. I’ve cleared my speaking efforts with my employer, who is being very supportive. Now, I just have to finish the notes, get the slides made, demos written, and rehearse, rehearse, rehearse.  Same as every other presentation I’ve done.

Since I’m now entering the speaking circuit, I felt it was time to give a thought to branding. Honestly, I’ve never liked the term, since I’m not a big fan of marketing and advertising. One of my non-SQL presentations has to do with how marketers and advertisers use deceptive practices in order to get you to buy their products.  So, I bristle at the thought of having to even come anywhere near that. However, I do think that part of my “brand” is honesty. I won’t have all the answers. In fact, I’ll probably end up saying “I don’t know…” a lot, but I promise I’ll always follow that up with, “…but I will find out.”  I think in there, we can make a deal. I’l give you the best answers I have, acknowledge where I went wrong, and you be patient while I find out the rest. Hopefully that sounds like a good compromise.

Finally, I look at this as a learning process for me.  I’m ready to take the next step in my learning endeavors where SQL is concerned, and I felt that a new blog would be a good place to do that.  In the short term, I plan on cross-posting some of my old SQL-related material from my previous blog. As I learn more, though, I’ll share what I find out here, in the hopes that someone else can make use of it as well.  It’s just another voice in the chorus, perhaps, but a larger chorus is more powerful, heard better, and has a more harmonious sound. Let’s sing together.

Thanks,

-David.

 

Please Comment

